Close Menu




Psychology is ranked 8th by U.S. New & World Report for its Masters in Rehabilitation Counseling, becomes a national leader in Industrial/Organizational management of rapid change in complex work environments and is cited nationally as an example of effective scientist/practitioner training

Dr. Nambury Raju is elected Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology


The doctoral Clinical Psychology Program receives full five years accreditation from the American Psychological Association

Dr. Chow Lam is promoted to Professor of Psychology

Retired professor Dr. Morris Aderman passes away and the Aderman Memorial Fund is established to support professional presentations by students


IIT's Psychology Department becomes an autonomous unit to be called the College of Psychology


Board of Overseers is established with Bryan Dunn named as Chair

First meeting of the Psychology Board at Chicago Club with the IIT Challenge Campaign and the Center for Research and Service Business Plan as key agenda items

Director M. Ellen Mitchell, working with the Psychology Board, drafts the first five-year plan for Psychology

IIT Challenge Campaign launched for university with gifts totaling $120 million from trustees Robert Galvin and Robert Pritzker

First Psychology Board of Overseers meeting held in June chaired by Bryan Dunn


First Development Plan written and presented by Board member, Dennis Armh3

Psychology faculty meet the Board of Overseers at dinner hosted by IIT President, Lew Collens


Board member, David Vitale hosted development training for psychology overseers, faculty and volunteers

"Lost Alumni Treasure Hunt" initiated to help find missing alumni

First Director of Development, Olivia Anderson hired for psychology (1/2 time)

David J. Vitale Undergraduate Scholarship Fund established for psychology students

Event, Cultivation/Recognition and Development Committees organized to accomplish goals as outlined in Development Plan. Committee goals and objectives established

Implemented bi-annual direct mail appeals to alumni


Professor Tamara Goldman Sher, Ph.D. receives $2.5 million grant, the largest ever to a single faculty member at IIT, from the NIH for research on medical illness and its effects on couples

First PsychNite event at The Second City e.t.c. held in May to reconnect psych alumni and to honor 30-year faculty members, Margaret Huyck and Allen Wolach

Cultivation/Recognition committee hosted a series of Information Breakfasts with University President Lew Collens and Institute Director, M. Ellen Mitchell to update alumni on the revitalization of IIT and the Institute’s mission and vision for the future

Board member, Diane Krause-Stetson and Duchossois Industries provided Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chicago Blackhawk tickets as an opportunity to expand a psychology network with the board, alumni and friends

First reception recognizing over thirty major donors was held in November. The event was hosted by President Lew Collens and his wife Marge in their Chicago home