Close Menu

2016 Writing Contest

Congratulations to the winners of the 51st Annual Writing Contest!

2016 Writing Contest Winners

Edwin h. lewis prize for FICTION

  • 1st: Cheryl Lininger (EE 3rd year), Turbulent
  • 2nd: Max Romanelli (MMAE 3rd year), The Mad Guitarist
  • 3rd: Vlad Batachia (EMGT 4th year), Misfits

Edwin h. lewis prize for NONFICTION

  • 1st: Melissa Lindemann (ITM 3rd year), Chicago Read Mental Health Center, Spring 2015
  • 2nd: Cindy Xie (ITM 4th year), Thief
  • 3rd: Cheryl Lininger (EE 3rd year), The Future Solar Capital of the World

The prizes for fiction and non-fiction are named for Edwin H. Lewis, an english professor at the Lewis Institute, one of the forerunners of Illinois Tech, from 1895 to 1936. Among other classes, Professor Lewis taught Shakespeare and apparently looked somewhat like him too. It is said that students would come to campus just for his lectures, often without even being enrolled.

mollie cohen POETRY

  • 1st: (CS 2nd year), Love, Identity, Struggle: A Collection
  • 2nd: Christopher Hui (MMAE 1st year), Three Poems
  • 3rd: Chelsea Badiola (PSYC 4th year), Four Poems

The poetry prize was established in 1965 by Mollie S. Cohen, a retiring Illinois Tech english professor. Professor Cohen was a native Chicagoan, and attended Lewis Institute before doing graduate work at the University of Chicago and at the Sorbonne in Paris. During her time as a professor at Illinois Tech, she worked closely with women students and international students.

henry knepler FRESHMAN ESSAY prize

2016 Henry Knepler Prize Winners

  • 1st: Misha Shah (BIOL 1st year), Content 
  • 2nd: Paulina Pys (BEHW 1st year), Mom? 
  • 3rd: Dennis Tran (PSYC 1st year), A Kafka Trial

The prize for freshman essays was renamed in 2015 to honor the late Henry Knepler’s 40 years at Illinois Tech as Professor of English and chair of the Department of Humanities. The prize was established from gifts made in Knepler’s memory by friends and his wife Myrna at the time of his passing in 1999. Myrna is an alumna of Illinois Tech, receiving her doctorate in Linguistics, and devoted her career to English as a Second Language (ESL) instruction.

In the photo (L-R): Dean Christine Himes, Lewis College of Human Sciences; Misha Shah; Myrna Knepler; Paulina Pys; Dennis Tran.